COVID-19 Update

Our 2019 Annual Meeting a Great Success!

HCRS held its annual meeting on November 6 at the Great Hall in Springfield. Attended by more than 125 board members, staff, clients, and community members, the event celebrated the agency’s accomplishments and impact on clients during its last fiscal year.

One of the most significant accomplishments at the non-profit agency was the successful implementation of their new Electronic Medical Record (EMR), a significant undertaking for any health care organization. The implementation process was highlighted for its positivity, creativity, short timeline, and teamwork. An annual encore award was presented to the EMR Project Team, which led the effort, and all staff in attendance illustrated the success of this implementation through enthusiastic applause and exclamations of approval. As noted by one of the Agency’s Board Members, “How often do you hear vigorous applause for an EMR implementation?”

Additional Encore Awards were presented to the following staff for going “above and beyond” in their work: Kerri-Ann Esty, Brooke Kearney, Jayne Stout, and Cassandra Viado.

Three guest speakers, all of whom have received services through HCRS, eloquently spoke of their challenges with mental illness or disabilities and how HCRS has supported them in their recovery. Their appreciation for the non-profit agency’s staff was repeatedly highlighted. Each of these client’s stories were so impactful, that they all received a standing ovation in recognition and appreciation for sharing their private and very personal journeys of recovery.

Following the presentations, HCRS CEO George Karabakakis, Ph.D., with the assistance of Anne Bilodeau, Chief Human Resources Officer, handed out 45 staff awards for years of service totaling 560 years.

35 year service award: Teresa Boni

30 year service awards: Katherine Duhamel, Lori Schreiner, Brad Sewall

25 year service awards: Joan Egbert, George Karabakakis, Shirley Roy

20 year service awards: Dr. Stuart Copans, Karon Eagles

15 year service award: Dr. Kathleen Allden, Jeanette Austin, Terence Flood, Shannon Lamb, Heather Lockwood, Rick Logan, Jennifer Marandino, Edmund Moore, IV, Tamara Simmiolkjier, Jayne Stout, Rose Wheeler, Cora Willis-Cooper

10 year service awards: Erin Boxer, Cindy Dominique, Keryn LaVarnway, Jillian Tripp

5 year service awards: Leah Austin, Danielle Blake, Christine Block, Dawn Bradshaw, Megan Chapman, Kimberly Crossman, Joshua Dallaire, Joshua DiGiovanna, Bethany Freitas, Corey Ickes, Faraja Kurubai, Jason Lovett, Justine Mercier-Senn, Shaun Milek, Alicia Monty, Currie Murphy, Jessica Ostrander, Duane Perkins, Rachel Rice, John Tobin

Karabakakis stated, “This past year has moved HCRS forward in some powerful ways. We are pleased to be able to celebrate our many accomplishments with our community at this annual event.”